Posted by: Shinrin | 04/15/2008

Okami -Ammy Returns!

Story

“Okami Amaterasu is resurected by the wood sprite Sakuya in order to stop the reserection of the evil demon serpent Orochi from devouring & destroying the lands. “Ammy” (as her nickname) is accompanied on her long journey with the tiny young man named Issun, the Wandering Artist. Along their journey they will uncover many secrets, meet the Zodiac Gods & gain new brush powers…but’s that’s only half of it… ”

O-kami” has received much praise, an outstanding masterpeice not to be passed up. With stunning visuals, exciting action-adventure and a Japanese mythological setting. You have interaction with your thumb-pad to control Ammy’s brush attacks. It has received many awards, being the best game of the year 2006-2007 and ranked in North America as the 100th best selling game in the region.

Originally released in December 2006 on the Playstation 2, at the height of the upcomming released platforms- X Box 360, PS3 and the Wii. The game got a little lost in the crowd of fans of the new platforms. Because of the high demand of the game to be released on the Wii, Capcom decided to re-release “O-kami” giving it a second chance on the Nintendo Wii. It utalizes the brush stroke fighting style to it’s full potentional with e remote. IGN was even thinking of making Okami: The Movie, hoping to get it animated by the highly acclaimed Hayao Miyazaki.

My review

Story/ Characters/ Music/ Artwork/ Gameplay -I give the game a perfect 10! There’s nothing I don’t like about it. It is odd that their aren’t any voice actors, there’s sub-titles but that doesn’t matter. The music is beautiful- combining traditional Japanese Gagaku (old Japanese music) with mordern action/anime music. It’s loaded with action, adventure, comedy, drama and mythical Japanese folklore. The gameplay is beyond outstanding: lots of extras, awesome upgrades you can customize your character & cool weapons.

“O-kami” is scheduled for Nintendo Wii release April 15, 2008. Definetly not a game to be passed up!

Responses

  1. Oh my goodness! There thinking about making a movie!!? Do you hve any mre information about that?

  2. I think it was more of a what-if situation. The game was so hugely popular, that it could practically make a movie- & if it did, Hayao Miyazaki would be the best choice to direct it. His famous anime films like Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke & Pom Poko won many awards for his great works of art.

    Unfortunatly, I don’t think that there will be an Okami movie (as far as we know). But, who knows, many video games have already been made into either a live action film (like Tomb Raider) or most commonly an anime film or series (like Harukanaru games).

    Who knows, maybe someone out there who’s a real dedicated fan of Okami may someday make a real Okami anime film? I know I’d like to see it! 😀

  3. Cool, i heard a lot of things on it and been trying get a chance to play it. cool pics!

  4. U know, if no one makes an Okami animated film, I’ll be that dedicated fan and do it myself! I’ve been learning how to animate and draw realistic wolves recently, and I’ve got plenty of time to improve (only 15 years old).

  5. That would be very cool if you make an animated Okami movie. If you create one, I’d defiently would like to see it.

  6. Howdy,

    How are you doing? I am new to animeotakus.wordpress.com. I use to visit this web site as plenty of useful info is available here but ne’er thought to add myself.

    Lastly, now I thought to join this community and do some share.

    Thanks

    You can also follow me on twitter @ Quick Weight Loss Tips

  7. You all have great comments and this is also my first time on this and i would also like to see a movie and make one myself as well too I draw ALOT and its soooo munch fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so if you have any more info on like when it’s coming out than tht would be a real big help.
    OH!!!! and if someone wants to get the game then just go on ebay you’ll get in like two days aha!!:) BYE BYE!!!

    thaanks!!!!!!!!!!:)

  8. hi everybody

    just registered and put on my todo list

    hopefully this is just what im looking for looks like i have a lot to read.

  9. New here, from Toronto, Canada

    Just a quick hello from as I’m new to the board. I’ve seen some interesting comments so far.

    To be honest I’m new to forums and computers in general 🙂

    Mike

  10. Hello! I’m new here. Just wanted to say hi


Leave a Reply

Categories